Castlebarry

The Montpeyroux Terroir


grappeThe Montpeyroux terroir is considered one of Languedoc’s greats, one of the loveliest and best known. The diverse soils are mostly clay and limestone, there is water, a soft Mediterranean climate ideal for growing vines in its a wild, well preserved countryside; over the years Montpeyroux has seen the birth of many widely recognized, splendid wines.

Situated on the foothills of the of the Cévennes and at the foot of the Larzac plateau, the south-east facing Montpeyroux vineyards are sheltered by the Séranne and charismatic Mount Baudile, as well as the hillside at the root of the name CastelBarry. Montpeyroux, from the Occitan for Stony Mountain, is special for three geological characteristics : the high land with its limestone gorge, the fine grained silt deposits on the terrasses and the many land parcels supported by dry stone walls and hard blue marl.


 


racinesOur intensive programme of parcel selection has resulted in the grape varieties and terroir suiting each other perfectly. In that our wines are mostly red, the resulting wines are clean and elegant with great finesse. Most of the grapes come from such aristocratic varieties as Syrah, Grenache, Mourvèdre, Carignan and Cinsault; the yields are strictly controlled and they are harvested when they have reached optimal maturity.

From the wild, unspoilt beauty of our vineyards has sprung a strong desire to maintain the balance of nature. Part of the vineyard is managed under Terra Vitis (sustainable) rules and another part has achieved fully organic status – proof that the CastelBarry members are determined to respect their environment. The gusty winds play their part too, ensuring the grape bunches remain clean and healthy.

terra-vitis

The Montpeyroux terroir produces outstanding wines, recognised since 1984 when it achieved AOP Languedoc Montpeyroux status. Very soon Montpeyroux will achieve the ultimate distinction : becoming a Cru in its own right.

Facebook - CastelBarry

Castlebarry

Terroir de Montpeyroux


grappeLe terroir de Montpeyroux est considéré comme un grand terroir en Languedoc, l’un des plus beaux et des plus réputés. Riche d’une diversité de sols majoritairement argilo-calcaire, d’une présence en eau, d’un climat méditerranéen clément pour la culture de la vigne, d’une nature sauvage préservée, Montpeyroux a fait naître au fil des années des grands vins de référence.

Situé sur les premiers contreforts des Cévennes, au pied du plateau du Larzac, le vignoble Montpeyrousien orienté sud-est est protégé par le massif de la Séranne et par le charismatique Mont Baudile, coiffant au passage les lettres de CastelBarry.
Montpeyroux, de l’occitan mont pierreux, imagé par un tas de cailloux, se caractérise par trois entités géologiques : le causse et sa cuvette calcaire, les terrasses et sa succession de parcelles retenues par des murs de pierres sèches et les marnes bleues.


 

 


racinesUn vaste programme de sélection parcellaire a permis au vignoble de parfaire la symbiose entre cépages sélectionnés et terroir. Les vins produits à dominante rouge sont empreints de fraîcheur, d’élégance et de finesse. Les cépages nobles et colorés tels que la Syrah, le Grenache, le Mourvèdre, le Carignan, et le Cinsault constituent la majorité de l’encépagement mais avec des rendements maîtrisés et des maturités optimales.

De cette beauté sauvage, cet écrin d’exception, font naître une volonté forte de préserver les équilibres. Une belle partie du vignoble est certifié Terra Vitis, et une autre en Agriculture Biologique, marques d’un engagement des hommes de CastelBarry de respecter l’environnement dans lequel ils se situent. Les vents ventilant naturellement le vignoble permettent eux aussi la préservation sanitaire des baies.

 

 

terra-vitis

Le terroir produit, à Montpeyroux, des vins reconnus d’exception, formalisation dès 1984 avec la reconnaissance de l’AOP Languedoc Montpeyroux en tant que dénomination. Bientôt Montpeyroux recevra l’ultime distinction et accèdera au rang de cru.

Facebook - CastelBarry